Inside Zimbabwe Travels

IMG_0831Zimbabwe is my motherland and it is so beautiful with all that it has been through politically. During my time here is when I felt the best as if I was living my best life, the carefree life. Bulawayo is were I spent most of my time with my family, skipping straight to my second week we made a 5 hour drive to Victoria Falls from Bulawayo going through towns Lupane, Gwayi River and Hwange. The most irritating thing were the police who had roadblocks every few miles in total there were about 7 roadblocks. This was such a beautiful drive were you would see many home steads were people live in the rural land it was so amazing to see that there are people who are happy to live here with limited electricity and shops surrounding them and herding cattle. These people were so beautiful and they looked so radiant in fact jealous at the fact that they don’t live amongst the modern world yet they enjoy life their lives out in the wilderness . If your going to make this drive I really recommend setting off early so you travel during the day as there are single lanes and cattle which pop out all the time.

Anyhow on arrival to Victoria falls we quickly went to a tour operator called Pamusha safaris  to book a sun set cruise along the Zambezi river. This was so surreal the sunset was so beautiful and the temperature was perfect warm with a light breeze. During the cruise there are unlimited drinks throughout soft drinks and alcoholic, you are also served a dinner whilst on board.
IMG_0540IMG_0533

During our stay at Victoria falls we stayed at the Elephant Hills hotel which was absolutely beautiful as soon as you step through the doors you are greeted by 5 star hospitality services, offering you a cold drink whilst your check in is being processed. The room was fabulous with a balcony where we would wake up birds singing and  monkeys and baboons eating any food that they found left by guests and many deers strolling across the grass. This was my favorite part of the day I would stand still and appreciate the worlds nature. This really made the hotel special more so as tourism graduate who has worked in hospitality I thought the service and staff were amazing they were so helpful and friendly.
IMG_0804IMG_0816
IMG_0652
IMG_0625 (2)

The falls themselves were about 20 minutes from the hotel and these were unbelievable, the first thing I wanted to know was weather the magical rainbow across the falls was always there! and the explanation behind it is known as ‘Musiya tunya’ the smoke that thunders. During my time in Victoria falls I also visited the crocodile sanctuary were a baby croc peed on my hand whilst I held it hahaa.
IMG_1289Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

IMG_0742IMG_0754IMG_0737IMG_1252IMG_0689
During the rest of my time in Zimbabwe I attended two beautiful weddings, at one wedding I had to go up on the podium and read a verse from the bible little because someone dropped out and I happened to be at the right place at the wrong time haha. Little old me who doesn’t read the bible often was so terrified but I went up there in my ballgown and did my thang 2 minutes of unwanted fame ;). Besides weddings I visited both my grandmas where I could relax in both their yards and time would feel still until sunset. I have to say sunsets in Zimbabwe are so pretty and the sunsets feel slow which gives you time to really enjoy their beauty.
IMG_1014

IMG_0164
Travel details:
Airline- South African Airways from the UK to Johannesburg, Joburg to Zimbabe.
Total flight time: 10 Hours

I hope you enjoyed this read,

Stay youthful and grateful-

Big love,

Taffy X

Published by

Taffy Msipa

A girl pursuing travel, she also owns a tourism management degree -

Leave a Reply

